USA Rugby announces Women’s Olympic Rugby Sevens Team for Paris

Mon, Jun 17, 2024, 3:32 PM
by Taylor Dean
USA Rugby
USA Rugby

USA Rugby announced today the 2024 U.S. Women’s Olympic Rugby Sevens Team as they head to compete at the 2024 Paris Olympic Games, with match dates set for July 28-30, 2024, live on Peacock and the NBC networks. 

Co-captains Lauren Doyle and Naya Tapper lead the team as they pursue the USA Women’s Rugby Sevens’ first Olympic medal, 100 years after the USA won last Olympic gold in rugby. The USA finished fifth and sixth at Rio 2016 and Tokyo 2020, respectively. 

The team is composed of 12 starting athletes and two traveling reserves, with a mix of new and veteran Olympians. Alev Kelter Lauren Doyle will make their third Olympic appearances, while Kayla Canett, Kristi Kirshe, Ilona Maher, Ariana Ramsey, and Naya Tapper will be heading to their second Olympic Games. Alena Olsen, Spiff Sedrick, Sammy Sullivan, Sarah Levy, and Steph Rovetti will otherwise celebrate making their first Olympic appearance. Traveling reserves and 2020 Olympians Kris Thomas and Nicole Heavirland will also join the team in Paris. 

Head Coach Emilie Bydwell and high performance staff selected the team according to procedures approved by USA Rugby and the U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Committee. Selection procedures are available at

The squad departs July 14 for a pre-Olympic training camp in Tours before entering the Olympic Village in Paris. Competition kicks off July 28, live on Peacock and the NBC networks. Pools will be announced by World Rugby on June 23.

Comments from Head Coach Emilie Bydwell:

“We are very excited about this team, we have an excellent blend of speed, power, work ethic, skill, and creativity that we know will ignite our brand of rugby. The players compliment each other extremely well, enabling individuals to express their strengths and simultaneously bring out the super powers of those around them and the team. 

Throughout the year, we've maintained a training environment with 23 dedicated players. This has created a high level of both competition and pressure, which has been instrumental in preparing the team and refining our final selection of the 14 athletes who will represent our program in July. We want to not only congratulate those selected, but thank the Highwomen that have contributed to the position that this team is in now.  

As we approach the final stages of preparation, our focus is on refining every aspect of our game. We are particularly emphasizing mental flexibility and resilience, knowing these qualities will be critical in Paris. Our goal is not just to compete, but to move the jersey forward, leaving a legacy for those to follow and to deliver a performance that inspires American fans.”

U.S. Women’s Olympic Rugby Team | Olympic Games Paris 2024
Name Hometown Position
Alena Olsen Caledonia, Michigan Scrumhalf
Alev Kelter Eagle River, Alaska Center/Prop
Ariana Ramsey King of Prussia, Pennsylvania Wing
Ilona Maher Burlington, Vermont Center/Prop
Kayla Canett Fallbrook, California Flyhalf
Kristi Kirshe Franklin, Massachusetts Hooker/Prop
Lauren Doyle (C) Boody, Illinois Flyhalf
Naya Tapper (C) Charlotte, North Carolina Wing
Sammy Sullivan Fayetteville, North Carolina Prop/Hooker
Sarah Levy San Diego, California Hooker
Spiff Sedrick Herriman, Utah Center
Steph Rovetti Reno, Nevada Scrumhalf
Nicole Heavirland (Traveling Reserve) Whitefish, Montana Hooker/Scrumhalf
Kris Thomas (Traveling Reserve) Philadelphia Hooker/Prop

U.S. Women’s Olympic Rugby Team Staff | Olympic Games Paris 2024

General Manager of High Performance | Tamara Sheppard

Head Coach | Emilie Bydwell

Assistant Coach | Zack Test

Strength & Conditioning | Trey Ford

Team Manager | Liz Strohecker

Physiotherapist | Nicole Titmas

Team Doctor | Alex Myers

Sports Psychologist | Peter Haberl

Press Officer | Taylor Dean

U.S. Women’s Olympic Rugby Team Schedule | Olympic Games Paris 2024

Pools will be announced June 23, 2024

Sunday, July 28

Pool matches begin 9:30am ET

Monday, July 29

Pool matches continue 8am ET

Knockouts begin 2pm ET

Tuesday, July 30

Knockouts continue beginning 8:30am ET

All matches will be live on Peacock TV with select games on NBC networks.